That awkward moment when you’re five chapters into the second draft of your WIP and realize one character’s history needs to change. And it significantly impacts THE ENTIRE BLOODY PLOT.

Sigh.

So, rewrites here I go. I can do this. I CAN DO THIS.

Want a sneak peek? Okay, since you asked so nicely…

 

“I did kiss you.” Declan takes a slow step in my direction, his eyes narrowed into slits as he stares down at me. There is a crinkle of electricity in that stare and I feel my throat constrict. “Drunk as I was, I could tell you liked it. You weren’t all frigid, not for the whole of it. I felt your…a…” he looks down at my chest and his eyes linger between my two top buttons, “bits that were keen.”

I pause for a beat, measuring his expression to determine whether or not he’s serious. Declan wets his bottom lip and I can do nothing but laugh. I didn’t realize men were really this obnoxious. He doesn’t seem to like my reaction. His face hardens, becomes guarded and severe and his cheeks grow an even deeper shade of pink.

“You think you rocked my world?”

“I did in fact, I’m guessin.”

I reach for his face and Declan leans back, but doesn’t brush my hand away. I can see his green eyes darken and he bites the inside of his cheek. The crackle of energy returns, but I know it is forced, that my slow, intimate movement has elevated the tension exactly how I’d intended. My thumbnail rubs across his bottom lip and he swallows, the sound audible.

“Funny, because I recall my world getting rocked a lot harder those few minutes Tucker and I were alone in my classroom.”

And here’s some Ed to get you in the mood:

