I love music. I know many of you do and I know there are a lot of writers who totally have a THICK_LOVE_COVER SMALLplaylist they listen to while they write. I can’t do that. When I write I have these cheap, enormous muffs I wear that I bought at Wal-Mart for eight bucks. I’m pretty sure they’re the sort of head gear you wear whilst shooting guns.

I need those goofy muffs because I need silence. (I’m also pretty sure I have misophonia since I have a non-existent tolerance for incessant noises like nails on a keyboard. Let’s not discuss chewing or smacking. It’ll jump start my rage).

Point being, WHILE writing I need silence, but music, yeah, I definitely need it. That certainly becomes true when preparing to write a certain scene. If it’s a fight scene (haven’t written many of those), then I like to listen to something hard and angry. If it’s an emotional scene, it’s typically something old and classic, like Billie Holiday or something compelling like Sia.

For THICK LOVE, though, there are scenes that required specific music to get me in the right mind frame to write. One scene in particular, required something very erotic, very sultry. No, no, not THAT kind of a scene, but one that still was probably one of the steamiest things I’ve ever written. So, I needed mood music and got it in the form of the following two songs.

Check it out:

Knock 1, 2, 3 by Imelda May

Wicked Games by The Weekend (Explicit lyrics ahead)

There are other songs on the play list that I’ve mentioned below but I’m really on the look out for songs if you guys would like to make suggestions.

Back to the cave and to poor, broken Ransom. 🙂

PLAYLIST:

WILDHORSES (COVER) ROLLING STONES

YOU WON’T LET ME BY KARISE EDEN

BREATHE ME BY SIA

WOMAN’S WORK BY MAXWELL

